Nobel Prize in Chemistry named after 3 scientists who discovered quantum dots

Quantum dots are used in LEDs and TVs / AP Photo
Quantum dots are used in LEDs and TVs / AP Photo

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced the 2023 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

In a ceremony held in Stockholm, the capital of Sweden, it was announced that the 2023 Nobel Prize in the field of chemistry will be awarded jointly to 3 American scientists.

Maungi Boundi of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Louis Bruce of Columbia University and Alexey Akimov of Nanocrystals Technology Inc. were awarded the honor for the discovery and advancement of quantum dots.

According to a statement released by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, quantum dots are tiny nanoparticles that light up televisions and LED lamps while helping doctors remove cancerous tissue.

Quantum dots are also used for a number of other applications.

The statement added that these three scientists are among the founders of the Nanoworld discovery.

Along with the Nobel Prize, the prize money will also be distributed among the three scientists.

Prof. Maungi Boundi described the Nobel Prize as an honor for him and said that ‘I am very surprised and shocked, I did not expect this’.

It should be noted that in 2022 Caroline Bertozzi of the United States, Morten Meldal of Denmark and Carl Barry Sharpless of the United States were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery of combining molecular building blocks to form compounds.

Earlier on October 2, the Nobel Committee announced the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Medicine to 2 scientists who helped develop an mRNA vaccine to fight the Covid-19 pandemic.

Similarly, on October 3, scientists from America, Germany and Sweden were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for their research on the electrons of the atom.

In the coming days, the Nobel Prizes for literature, peace and economics will also be announced.

The prizes will be awarded to the laureates on December 10, on the occasion of Alfred Nobel’s death anniversary.

Leave a Comment