Google is set to delete long-term inactive accounts on December 1

The policy was announced in May 2023 / Reuters Photo
The policy was announced in May 2023 / Reuters Photo

If you haven’t used your Google account in a while, it’s best to log in to it.

If you do not log in to your inactive Google or Gmail account by November 30, it will be deleted by the company.

Keep in mind that Google announced in May 2023 that accounts that have been inactive for the past 2 years will be deleted by the end of 2023.

The policy is effective from December 1 and will apply to inactive Google accounts for Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar, YouTube and Photos.

In this regard, multiple emails will be sent to recovery email accounts including the user’s inactive Gmail account till November 30.

If nothing is done by the user, then on December 1st his account will be deleted and will not be accessible again.

This policy will also be applied in future i.e. if the user does not use an account for 2 years then it will be deleted by the company.

In May, Google said in a blog post that inactive accounts are at high risk of being hacked.

Google said that these accounts have weak security and once they are hacked, they can be used for illegal purposes or to spread spam content.

According to the company, Google accounts that have never been used after creation will be deleted first.

This policy will apply to personal Google accounts while accounts linked to organizations will not be affected.

Leave a Comment